↑ Return to About Us

Distinguished Service Awards

Each year in December at the Holiday Breakfast, CFAMFT recognizes a leader in the field of Marriage and Family Therapy by awarding them with the Distinguished Service Award.

Our Congratulations Goes Out To Our Past Esteemed Recipients:

2015 Dr. Judith Shell, LMFT


2014 – Alicia Homrich, Ph.D., NCC, LPY, LMFT


2013 – Regina Morrow, Ed.S., LMHC, LMFT, NCC


2012 – Dr. Burt Bertram, LMFT


2011 –  Russ Hiett, LMFT


2010 – Richard Erikson, Ph.D, LMFT

              Mel Jacobs D.Min, LMFT


2009 – Nancy Witt, M.A., LMHC


2008 – Valorie Thomas, Ph.D., LMFT, LMHC


Criteria For the Distinguished Service Award

Award will be presented as often as determined by the CFAMFT Board, which
– each year will consider whether there is a worthy candidate
– award does not have to be presented annually.

Selection Criteria

Individuals considered for this award have:
1. A minimum of ten years of involvement in CFAMFT,
OR a combination of involvement in CFAMFT and FAMFT or AAMFT.
2. Professional competence and integrity.
3. Demonstrated a commitment to the profession of Marriage and Family Therapy by:
a. Creating and supporting the professional community.
b. Participating in activities that advance the goals of the profession.
c. Speaking out on behalf of the profession (advocacy).
d. Working to make profession viable and visible.
4. Contributed to the profession of Marriage and Family Therapy as demonstrated by:
a. Service as a role model to upcoming clinicians, and
b. Significant leadership, mentorship or supervision activities.
5. Respect by colleagues.